Eurojust and the Western Balkans - Factsheet

26 October 2020|PUBLICATION
Eurojust and the Western Balkans - Factsheet - coverpage in thumbnail format

To strengthen operational and strategic cooperation with the Western Balkan region, Eurojust, the European Union Agency for Criminal Justice Cooperation, has signed cooperation agreements with four Western Balkan countries: Albania, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia. These cooperation agreements unlock the possibility of safely and efficiently exchanging judicial information and sharing evidence. They also allow these states to benefit from practical cooperation tools offered through Eurojust to prosecute serious transnational crime cases. Strategic cooperation also takes place with Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo*, particularly through involvement in various Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA) projects. The Liaison Prosecutors (LPs) from Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia were seconded to Eurojust in 2017, 2018 and 2020, respectively. On the following pages, they describe the mutual benefits of working in The Hague and what they hope to achieve in their terms as LPs.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Publication details



[PDF] (1.63 MB)