Eurojust Presidency
Ladislav Hamran (top), Boštjan Škrlec (bottom-left) and Margarita Šniutytė-Daugėlienė (bottom-right)

Eurojust’s Presidency comprises its President and two Vice-Presidents, who are assisted in the performance of their specific duties by the administrative staff of Eurojust. Elected from among the National Members, the President represents the Agency, oversees meetings and directs and monitors Eurojust’s activities and management. The Vice-Presidents carry out duties entrusted to them by the President and represent the President if he or she is prevented from carrying out his or her duties.

In October 2017, the College elected Ladislav Hamran, National Member for the Slovak Republic, as its President. In November 2020, he was re-elected for a second term.

The National Member for Slovenia, Boštjan Škrlec, was elected Vice-President in December 2020.

In June 2022, Margarita Šniutytė-Daugėlienė, National Member for Lithuania, was elected Vice-President.

Functions of the President

The Eurojust President represents Eurojust and carries out specific functions on behalf of the Eurojust College, including:

  • calling and presiding over the meetings of Eurojust’s College and Executive Board, and keeping the College informed of relevant matters;

  • directing the work of the College and monitoring the Administrative Director’s daily management of Eurojust;

  • any other functions set out in Eurojust’s rules of procedure.

Electoral procedure

The College of Eurojust elects the President and Vice-Presidents from among the Eurojust National Members by a two-thirds majority member vote. In the case of electing a Vice-President, when a two-thirds majority cannot be reached after the second round of the election, the position is filled according to a majority member vote.

The term of office for the President and the Vice-Presidents is four years, with a term limit of two terms.