Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

News and announcements

Cooperation Agreement between Eurojust and Albania enters into force


The Cooperation Agreement between Eurojust and the Republic of Albania will enter into force on 1 November, all requirements regarding data protection having been fulfilled.
This Cooperation Agreement is the third between Eurojust and a country in the Western Balkans, the other two being the Republic of North Macedonia (2008) and Montenegro (2016).
The Cooperation Agreement between Eurojust and the Republic of Albania was signed in Tirana on 5 October 2018 to enhance operational and strategic judicial cooperation with the Republic of Albania. Ms Etilda Gjonaj, Minister of Justice of the Republic of Albania, and Mr Ladislav Hamran, President of Eurojust, signed the Cooperation Agreement.
The Republic of Albania has been involved in 59 cases since 2015, with 19 Eurojust cases just in the first nine months of this year.
The Eurojust press release and related materials on the signing of the cooperation agreement with the Republic of Albania in 2018 can be found here.

Photo © Gent Mersinaj