Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

News and announcements

New era in international cooperation with Iceland: Minister of Justice visits Eurojust


On 25 August, H.E. Sigríður Á. Andersen, Minister of Justice of Iceland, visited Eurojust with officials from the Ministry of Justice. The visit was hosted by Ladislav Hamran, Vice-President, Lukáš Stary, acting Chair of the External Relations Team, Hilde Stoltenberg, Liaison Prosecutor for Norway, and Morten Stene, Assistant to the Liaison Prosecutor for Norway.

A judicial Cooperation Agreement between Eurojust and the Republic of Iceland was signed in December 2005. Mutual legal cooperation between Eurojust and Iceland is facilitated through two judicial contact points in Iceland.

Iceland is closely associated with the Nordic Member States of the European Union through Nordic justice and law enforcement cooperation, and is highly integrated with the European Union through membership in the European Economic Area (EEA), the Schengen Area and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA).

Implementation of the Convention on a simplified extradition procedure between the Member States of the European Union of 1995 and the Convention relating to extradition between the Member States of the European Union of 1996 is needed.

In 2006, the Republic of Iceland, the Kingdom of Norway and the European Union signed the Agreement on the surrender procedure between the Member States of the European Union and Iceland and Norway. To enter into force, the 2006 Agreement requires all contracting parties to ratify it. During the meeting, awareness of the importance of Iceland ratifying the 2006 Agreement was raised.

During the meeting, a suggestion was made that, in accordance with the Cooperation Agreement, regular consultation on the implementation of the provisions regarding data protection and security should be considered. The offer of tailor-made study visits to Eurojust by Icelandic prosecutors was made.

Sigríður Á. Andersen, a lawyer by training, was appointed Minister of Justice in January 2017. She also serves as a Member of Parliament for the Independence Party in the South Reykjavík Constituency since 2015.


Photos © Eurojust